Skip to content

This is more intimidating than Geocities.

November 4, 2009

Approximately a week ago, Yahoo! shut down Geocities. If you weren’t part of the “create your own website” revolution, you wouldn’t understand the loss nerds all over the word are feeling. I am much more averse to this feeling than the one I had after watching Episode I for the second time.

In 1998 my mother purchased our first computer, after a little bit of prodding (also, she worked at Sears and had a decent employee discount). Within the first day I created an AOL username that stuck around far too long, schmazz (in fact, it’s still the basis for my spam e-mail, my livejournal account, forum identities, etc). Hearing “You’ve Got Mail!” was as rich an experience as listening to Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness for the first time.  Ah, to be part of that zeitgeist again…

How does Geocities pertain to this blog? Well, in the 8th grade through freshman year of college, I regularly updated my Geocities page. I felt cool saying, “I have my own website. It has pictures, videos, stories and everything.” Hand-coded, even! Now, everyone mixes their reality with their cyber identity. They are indistinguishable; if something big happens in my friends’ lives, chances are I read about it on Twitter or Facebook before hearing about it from their mouths. And that’s okay! However, having a web presence now isn’t something to feel cool about; it’s not a novelty, it’s a necessity.

That is why this ol’ WordPress blog is more intimidating than Geocities. I have to do a lot more in order to stand out. I could draw some silly clown pictures, in case you didn’t see enough in my friend Chris’ amazing ‘zine, Jesús and the Bunny. But, how would drawing silly clown pictures help me? It wouldn’t, really. Unless the Museum of Modern Art realizes that clowns are the new soup can. We’ll see.

I wrote this post so my URL would not lead you to a blank canvas. Instead, you now have something to pick apart. Treat this post like a Hooters chicken wing, gnawing on the good meat while tossing away the gristle. Minus the women in tight orange tap pants, of course.

KK

P.S. For fun, visit my old Geocities page, or other delicacies, via the Wayback Machine.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 11:51 pm

    hey we use the same wordpress theme. what what?

    • November 15, 2009 11:31 pm

      Oh, we so get a what what! Badass. I subscribed to your blog using Google Reader, though, so I didn’t even notice. Good observation, miss.

  2. November 14, 2009 3:05 pm

    Here’s to more clowns in JATB issue 8! Thanks for the shout-out, and congrats on the jump to this new big-league blog.

    • November 15, 2009 11:32 pm

      And when do you suppose issue 8 will come out, what with all the learning, tutoring, and plague-avoiding you’re doing?

      • November 18, 2009 7:11 am

        Hm, what with all of the aforementioned learning &co. &co., probably not for a while unfortunately. I try to make each issue a pleasant literary menagerie, but at this point it would be composed of all essays. But when it finally comes together, it will pack a punch I promise!

Leave a Reply

